Home > Sports > Soccer
  print button email button

Wednesday, Dec. 23, 2009

Messi honored as FIFA's World Player of the Year

ZURICH (AP) Lionel Messi added FIFA's World Player of the Year award to his growing list of accolades Monday, completing a nearly perfect campaign in which his club won an unprecedented trio of Spanish and European titles.

News photo
Simply the best: Argentina's Lionel Messi, a star striker for Barcelona, poses for photographers after being named the FIFA World Player of the Year on Monday night in Zurich. AP PHOTO

Messi received the award at at a gala ceremony here, easily outdistancing the last two winners — Cristiano Ronaldo and Kaka — along with his Barcelona teammates Xavi Hernandez and Andres Iniesta in voting among national team captains and coaches.

Messi also received the Golden Ball as the best player in Europe after FC Barcelona won the Spanish League and cup and the Champions League. He sealed the team's first Club World Cup on Saturday with an extra-time goal to beat Estudiantes 2-1.

All that's missing from the 22-year-old Argentine's resume is a World Cup title.

"It is beautiful to achieve a year that cannot possibly be improved," Messi said through a translator, calling the FIFA award "the icing on the cake."

Messi, who was runnerup the last two years, received 1,047 points in voting. Ronaldo was second with 352 points, followed by Xavi with 196 points.

The women's award went to Marta for the fourth year in a row. The 23-year-old Brazilian playmaker won out over teammate Cristiane, Kelly Smith of England, and German stars Birgit Prinz and Inka Grings.

"I'm really surprised," Marta said.

Nobody was surprised that Messi won the award, after scoring 38 goals in 51 matches in all competitions during 2008-09 season. He has 15 goals in 22 games already as Barcelona has surged to the top of La Liga and back to the Champions League knockout phase.

His form with Argentina has been less spectacular.

The South American team stumbled into the World Cup after late winners in the final qualifying matches against Peru and Uruguay, with Messi in particular appearing confused and uninspired since Diego Maradona took over as coach last year.

Maradona has labeled Messi his "successor" on the field, and Messi has already surpassed the former great in terms of successes at the club level. But his only international triumph was an Olympic gold medal in 2006, and he will have to play better to lead Argentina to a third World Cup title and its first since Maradona inspired victory in 1986.

Asked about his play with Argentina, Messi said he didn't know why he's been unable to recapture his club form with his country.

"Argentina had a hard time in the qualifying round," he said, "but the World Cup is something different. I just hope the team and I can play better."

The late England player and manager Bobby Robson received FIFA's Fair Play Award, while the Presidential Award for contributions to soccer and society went to Jordan's Queen Rania.

The world governing body also announced its first World XI men's team, which included six players from the Spanish League and five from the Premier League.

Real Madrid's Iker Casillas was goalkeeper, with Manchester United's Nemanja Vidic and Patrice Evra joining Chelsea's John Terry and Barcelona's Dani Alves on defense. Xavi, Iniesta and Liverpool's Steven Gerrard were picked as midfielders, with Messi, Ronaldo and Liverpool striker Fernando Torres in attack.

The short list of candidates for Player of the Year highlighted the shift in soccer power over the past year to Spain, whose national side is the reigning European champion and whose club sides Barcelona and Real Madrid shared all five finalists for the award.

Ronaldo was the runaway winner in 2008 after a season during which he scored 42 goals and won the European championship with Manchester United.

The English side was beaten in this year's final by Barcelona, and the 24-year-old Portuguese winger moved to Real Madrid in the offseason to join Kaka, the 2007 winner of the FIFA award who transferred from AC Milan.

Ronaldo was honored at the gala for scoring the best goal of the year, a 40-meter shot against Porto in last season's Champions League. Ronaldo hailed Messi for having played "very well" but credited his rival's success to Barcelona's fluid play among teammates.

"Xavi and Iniesta also deserve the award," Ronaldo said. "If I had to choose, I would say all three of them."

Back to Top

About us |  Work for us |  Contact us |  Privacy policy |  Link policy |  Registration FAQ
Advertise in japantimes.co.jp.
This site has been optimized for modern browsers. Please make sure that Javascript is enabled in your browser's preferences.
The Japan Times Ltd. All rights reserved.