Home > Sports > Japanese BaseballMLB
  print button email button

Friday, Nov. 25, 2011

Miyamoto wins Golden Glove at 40


Tokyo Yakult Swallows third baseman Shinya Miyamoto became the oldest recipient ever of a Golden Glove Award on Thursday at 40 years, 11 months.

Miyamoto captured his third straight Golden Glove at third base, having won the award six times at shortstop between 1997 and 2003.

Legendary home run king Sadaharu Oh last won the award in 1980 at first base at 40 years, 5 months.

"I'm very honored to become the oldest recipient," Miyamoto said. "At this age, I'm glad I was able to contribute to the team defensively."

There were eight first-time winners: Tohoku Rakuten Eagles pitcher Masahiro Tanaka, Chunichi Dragons pitcher Takuya Asao, Fukuoka Softbank Hawks second baseman Yuichi Honda, Hawks third baseman Nobuhiro Matsuda, Hanshin Tigers shortstop Takashi Toritani, Chiba Lotte Marines outfielder Yoshifumi Okada, Yomiuri Giants outfielder Hisayoshi Chono and Dragons outfielder Yohei Oshima.

Asao was the first Golden Glove-winning pitcher without a start.

Okada set a record for outfielders in the two-league era by going 359 consecutive fielding chances without an error.

Softbank catcher Toru Hosokawa and first baseman Hiroki Kokubo were also selected, making the Japan Series champion Hawks the team with the most Golden Glove winners in 2011 — four.

The Yokohama BayStars were the only team without a Golden Glove winner.

The Golden Glove is awarded each year to the best fielder at each position in the two leagues, as voted by baseball writers.

Back to Top

About us |  Work for us |  Contact us |  Privacy policy |  Link policy |  Registration FAQ
Advertise in japantimes.co.jp.
This site has been optimized for modern browsers. Please make sure that Javascript is enabled in your browser's preferences.
The Japan Times Ltd. All rights reserved.