Home > News
  print button email button

Tuesday, Dec. 18, 2012


Ozawa only DPJ defector to win district


Ichiro Ozawa, the former leader of the Democratic Party of Japan also known as "the destroyer," was the only one of the party's 71 defectors to win a single-seat district Sunday.

Ozawa, now a member of the newly formed Nippon Mirai no To (Tomorrow Party of Japan), won his usual seat in the Iwate No. 4 district, but the 70 other candidates who bolted the DPJ at his bidding failed to defend their districts.

The losing defectors included former agriculture minister Masahiko Yamada and former consumer affairs minister Kenji Yamaoka.

Some of the defectors, however, went on to win seats anyway via the proportional representation segment of the election, including Sakihito Ozawa, a former environment minister, and Yorihisa Matsuno, a former deputy chief Cabinet secretary.

Of the 71 lawmakers who deserted the DPJ, 56 were fielded by Nippon Mirai, seven by Nippon Ishin no Kai (Japan Restoration Party), three by Your Party, two by New Party Daichi and one by the Liberal Democratic Party. The remaining two were independents.

The DPJ took heavy losses Sunday as voters punished the party for failing to keep the lofty promises that swept it to power in the historic 2009 election.

We welcome your opinions. Click to send a message to the editor.

The Japan Times

Article 11 of 16 in National news

Previous Next

Back to Top

About us |  Work for us |  Contact us |  Privacy policy |  Link policy |  Registration FAQ
Advertise in japantimes.co.jp.
This site has been optimized for modern browsers. Please make sure that Javascript is enabled in your browser's preferences.
The Japan Times Ltd. All rights reserved.