Home > News
  print button email button

Wednesday, Dec. 5, 2012


Lower House polls over last 20 years


Following are Lower House elections over the past 20 years. Prime ministers at the time of dissolution are in brackets.

July 18, 1993: The Liberal Democratic Party lost a majority in the Lower House, bringing to an end 38 uninterrupted years in power. Morihiro Hosokawa is elected prime minister after forming a non-LDP coalition. (Kiichi Miyazawa)

Oct. 20, 1996: The LDP fails to secure a majority but maintains a coalition government with the Social Democratic Party and New Party Sakigake. The current Lower House electoral system — in which some members are elected from single-seat constituencies while others are elected from proportional representation segments — begins. (Ryutaro Hashimoto)

June 25, 2000: The ruling bloc of the LDP, New Komeito and New Conservative Party gains a majority. (Yoshiro Mori)

Nov. 9, 2003: The LDP maintains a majority and the Democratic Party of Japan also advances while smaller parties suffer setbacks. (Junichiro Koizumi)

Sept. 11, 2005: The LDP wins big and secures a two-thirds majority with its coalition partner, New Komeito. Koizumi dissolved the Lower House and called a general election after the Diet blocked bills for the privatization of postal services. (Junichiro Koizumi)

Aug. 30, 2009: The DPJ scores a landslide victory, capturing 308 of the 480 seats in the Lower House, while the LDP, in a historic defeat, fails to become the largest force in the chamber for the first time since its establishment in 1955. (Taro Aso)


We welcome your opinions. Click to send a message to the editor.

The Japan Times

Article 13 of 13 in National news


Back to Top

About us |  Work for us |  Contact us |  Privacy policy |  Link policy |  Registration FAQ
Advertise in japantimes.co.jp.
This site has been optimized for modern browsers. Please make sure that Javascript is enabled in your browser's preferences.
The Japan Times Ltd. All rights reserved.