Home > Entertainment
  print button email button

Friday, April 15, 2005


Opera City in Japanese composers' festival

An orchestra made up of more than 80 musicians selected from 23 orchestras across the nation are to play four masterpieces composed by contemporary Japanese composers.

On April 26, the All-Japan Symphony Orchestra will perform "Symphony," (1958) by Akio Yashiro (1929-76); "Concerto for Harp and Orchestra, Returning, in Memory of Kunio Tsuji," (2001) by Toshio Hosokawa (1955-); "Dies Irae/Lacrimosa" (1995) by Atsuhiko Gondai (1965-); and "Seven Tableaux -- Dedicated to Toshio Arimoto" (2004) by Masataka Hirano (1970-), who is also known as a saxophonist.

Ken Takasaki will conduct the first two pieces and Kazufumi Yamashita the last two pieces.

"Gendai Nihon Okesutora Meikyoku no Yube (An Evening of Japanese Orchestral Music)" will start at 7 p.m., April 26 at Tokyo Opera City Concert Hall.

The tickets are priced between 1,000 yen and 4,000 yen. Call (03) 5353-9999 or 0570-02-9990 or visit www.eee.eplus.co.jp

Back to Top

About us |  Work for us |  Contact us |  Privacy policy |  Link policy |  Registration FAQ
Advertise in japantimes.co.jp.
This site has been optimized for modern browsers. Please make sure that Javascript is enabled in your browser's preferences.
The Japan Times Ltd. All rights reserved.