Home > Entertainment > Music
  print button email button

Friday, July 28, 2006


Jurassic 5 "Feedback"

"I refuse to bust gats and water down my raps," rhymes Akil on "Where We At," addressing Jurassic 5's detractors. His words will likely fall on deaf ears. Those disappointed by the lack of tired references to cash, drugs and violence of J5's past work won't be embracing their third full-length "Feedback."

Formed in the mid-'90s in Los Angeles, J5's four emcees and two turntablists established themselves as one of the strongest proponents of hip-hop performed with a conscience. Their first effort since the departure of Cut Chemist last year, "Feedback" continues to build on the refreshingly positive, old-skool jams that dominated 2000's "Quality Control" and 2002's "Power In Numbers." With a laid-back flow, the four rappers trade off clever verses that are "tight like shoestrings." Looking to expand their trademark sound, J5 add diversity with the Latin-flavored "Canto De Ossanha," a Dave Matthews Band collaboration titled "Work It Out" and "Brown Girl," a pulsating dance number, which stands out as one of the more modern-sounding and commercial cuts in the band's catalog.

Back to Top

About us |  Work for us |  Contact us |  Privacy policy |  Link policy |  Registration FAQ
Advertise in japantimes.co.jp.
This site has been optimized for modern browsers. Please make sure that Javascript is enabled in your browser's preferences.
The Japan Times Ltd. All rights reserved.